Events

November 30, 2021 / Wednesday, 8:00 AM PST, 3:00 PM GMT

Year in Review Webinar

For eleven years, African Diaspora Network (ADN) has been dedicated to bringing together Africans on the continent, in the diaspora, and friends of Africa. At 8,250 people strong, ADN has grown as a nonprofit organization that makes a global impact.
September 23, 2021 / Thursday, 7:00 AM PST, 2:00 PM GMT

Leveraging the Diaspora for the Benefit of Households and National Economies in the Countries of Origin and Destination

Organized by UNECA and African Diaspora Network
The African diaspora has a critical role towards the development of the continent. The diaspora must position itself robustly to devise innovative ways of utilising its resources toward improving livelihoods of households and national economies in the countries of origin and destination.
July 14, 2021 / Wednesday, 8:00 AM PST, 3:00 PM GMT

The Role of Faith in Philanthropic Giving to Africa

Hosted by the African Diaspora Network and King Baudouin Foundation United States (KBFUS)
The conversation will explore how faith and spiritual/religious values drive charitable giving; why is giving to Africa important; and how faith-based organizations and individuals go about deciding where and to whom to give.
May 25, 2021 / Tuesday, 8:00 AM PST, 3:00 PM GMT

Investing in Grassroots African Healthcare Organizations

Local grassroots healthcare organizations are a critical link between communities and the primary-healthcare system in Africa. There are more than 1 million Community Health Workers across sub-Saharan Africa alone, all working to reduce barriers to healthcare. They provide low-cost healthcare solutions and public health awareness to their community.
APRIL 21, 2021 / Wednesday, 8:00 AM PST, 11:00 AM EST, 3:00 PM GMT

SOCIAL ENTREPRENEURS’ RAPID RESPONSE TO CRISIS

Hosted by the African Diaspora Network and the King Baudouin Foundation United States (KBFUS)
When disaster strikes, only the flexible and responsive survive. The uncertainties of a global pandemic and the increasing challenges of climate change overwhelmed even the most well-funded organizations. But where top international NGOs may falter to respond to changed conditions on the ground, locally-led social entrepreneurs can thrive
April 9, 2021 / Wednesday, 12 pm pst

HARNESSING KNOWLEDGE AND RESOURCES: ENTREPRENEURSHIP & INVESTMENT

March 31, 2021 / Wednesday, 8:00 AM PST, 11:00 AM EST, 3:00 PM GMT

INVESTING IN WOMEN TO SUPPORT AFRICA’S COVID-19 RECOVERY

The African Diaspora Network (ADN) and SME.NG – Nigeria’s Impact Investment Platform, are organizing a virtual dialogue to mark International Women’s Month (IWM). The objective of the dialogue is to assess the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on economic opportunities for African women and to deliberate on how strategic investments in women entrepreneurship can help accelerate the continent’s recovery from the pandemic.
March 24, 2021 / Wednesday, 8:00 AM PST, 11:00 AM EST, 3:00 PM GMT

WEBINAR: INVESTMENT OPPORTUNITIES IN BARBADOS

COVID-19 brought with it much devastation, but also opportunities for countries to thrive and advance in ways they may not have before the pandemic. Several countries now have the opportunity to re-analyse their comparative and competitive advantages. One such country that is seeking to increase and attract new investment in some of these sectors is Barbados. Invest Barbados, in collaboration with the African Diaspora Network, will be hosting a webinar to highlight the investment opportunities and advantages that Barbados provides for global companies in areas such as ICT, Fintech, financial services, niche manufacturing, renewable energy, agri-business and offshore schools, among others.